Anime Review: Food Wars! Shokugeki no Soma

I have been away from anime for a long time. Years, even. I cut my teeth on Ninja Scroll, and Vampire Hunter D, but I was never interested in anime that wasn’t fantasy or sci-fi. I would scour the aisles of Best Buy looking for shows that would be of interest to my adolescent mind. With time, comes a change of taste, and an appreciation for something different. Into my world walked Food Wars! Shokugeki no Soma, and I’m glad it did.

Food Wars 01

Food Wars! is produced by J.C. Staff and directed by Yoshitomo Yonetani. It follows the journey of young Soma Yukihira as he seeks to best his father, a chef of a local eatery, at cooking. Eventually our hero is sent among the elite up and coming chefs at the most prestigious academy in Japan.

At the school, we are introduced to a myriad of characters, each with their own personality, and each with their own culinary talents. Though Soma is our main vehicle into the world of Food Wars!, we come to cheer along his friends and companions who must face their own challenges.

Food Wars! stands out for two significant reasons. Though the animation is at times superb, the writing of the show stands above and beyond. The show has impeccable comedic timing, and is completely self-aware when it comes to its treatment of common anime tropes (think tentacles). When the show is not focusing on humor, food and the art of cooking are dead center. It’s more than obvious that the show’s creators have a passion for food that is displayed in each and every breakdown of the dishes featured in each episode. I must admit that my more than a few dinner choices were influenced by a dish served up by Soma and co.

If you are looking for a show that is fun and has a pure spirit, you cannot go wrong with Food Wars! Shokugeki no Soma. I will be looking forward to when the second season is served up.

Take a moment to listen to the incredible ending theme, featured heavily in the first half of the season. I could not get it out of my head.

Food Wars 03

2 thoughts on “Anime Review: Food Wars! Shokugeki no Soma

Leave a Reply

